First

Good morning 🙂

Today marks my first day back from my “break.” Let me clarify…

Last Friday was my last day working at my job. I had been working there for all of six years, and last week was surprisingly a little more emotional than I had anticipated. My last day was full of much bittersweetness, but I didn’t get much of a chance to process and soak it all in. As soon as I got home from work, I packed for our church’s women’s retreat and grabbed a quick bite before heading out. Retreat ended on Saturday, and Sunday my husband left for a business trip. Sunday through Thursday have been busy with meeting friends, keeping up with chores, and visiting my parents. And then my husband returned from his trip last night.

So today marks the first day of what I believe will become my weekday routine.

Earlier this week I was waking up at around 8am, and people would ask me why I was waking up so early when I wasn’t working anymore. Ironically, I felt that I actually was sleeping in. I turned off and actually deleted all of my alarms, and I wasn’t waking up to pack meals for my husband and seeing him off to work. Another question people have been asking me is something along the lines of, “What are you doing now with all your free time/now that you’re not working/now that you’re on vacation?” Now that the hubs is back and I’ve started my weekday routine, I’ll probably still be doing what I’ve been doing these past few days. I want to do my best to maintain our home so that my husband doesn’t have to do anything when he gets back from work. I want to continue visiting my parents and spending quality time with them–something I hadn’t had much of a chance to do while I was working full time. I want to use my time and my home to minister to sisters at church and also to maintain the relationships that I’ve built with people elsewhere. I also want to read more, pray more, and exercise more. And I definitely want to take advantage of my hours so I can take care of all my chores and responsibilities while my husband is at work so I can leave my evenings open to relax with him. I’ve been looking forward to the small things like being able to get to the dry cleaner’s without rushing after I get off work, or stopping by the mall or going places without having to worry about traffic or getting home in time to get dinner ready by the time my husband gets home. Basically, I don’t want to waste my time by laying around playing Candy Crush all day.

So far, so good…but it’s really only been an hour since I’ve been up. We’ll see how the rest of today goes.

I look forward to keeping you posted on life after full time work and as we prepare to move overseas. I should probably get to that in a post some time in the near future…

youngmom&dad
Here’s an awesome photo of my parents because blog posts are better with pictures and I don’t know what other photo put on here.

Leave a Reply

