month

Hi Blog.

It’s been a while. Sorry about that…

In these last couple of days, a lot of my time and thoughts have been absorbed by two things: candy crush and corgis.

I think it’s fair to say that I really need to spend my time thinking about and doing more productive things.

I’ve spent a good chunk of time hanging out with people in this last month, though. It’s been awesome. But I think it could have been better, too.

I hung out with a sister today and it was lovely. She is lovely. But tonight I sat and thought, “Wow. Did I really say that? I don’t think I even really thought that through. I don’t think I really meant what I said…I could have phrased that differently. Why did I say that? And in that way? So dumb…ugh.” It’s not been uncommon for thoughts like this to swirl around in my head. It just hasn’t happened in a while…and I’m glad for that. In the end, what’s done is done and I can’t take my words back. I think a large part of why I don’t spend as much time dwelling and wallowing is because my wonderful husband keeps me grounded and brings me back…whatever that means.

And then that video just makes me really happy and it helps me to stop wallowing.

Anyway.

I read something that a great friend (and wonderful writer) posted on her tumblr and thought the timing of it all was so fitting.

Here I was, mulling over silly things I said…and then I read–

“I am amused by how much people can talk about themselves.”

It’s just the reality check I needed.

I want to meet up with sisters for them, not for me. Not to say that I would rather not enjoy or benefit, because I can’t help but be encouraged by these women. But I want my priority to be them, not me. I want to learn about their lives and their stories, to learn how to better encourage them and pray for them. I don’t want to end up just talking about me and unloading all my nonsense–I have my husband for that.

Hopefully He’ll give me the grace to be better from here on out.

On a lighter note, the hubs and I went to visit dear friends and family up north recently, and I’d like to share a few photos.

Image
Love this baby and this family 🙂 I really wish we visited them more when they lived down the street from us.
Image

Here’s Silas maxin’ and relaxin’.

Image

And the Chois. We always, always love spending time with them.

Hopefully it’ll be less than a month before the next time I post…but we shall see.

Leave a Reply

