fried goodness

I tried a couple of recipes for the first time this week and they turned out to be pretty dang awesome. I don’t usually share recipes unless I’m asked to, but I really like the dishes I made and the blog I got the recipes from. The author/cook/photographer of Just One Cookbook, Nami, was born in Japan and now lives in the SF Bay Area, and her recipes always look amazing and are easy to follow.

On Tuesday, I made chicken katsu for the first time. It was also my first time deep frying anything. You can find the link to the recipe here, and she also gives super helpful tips on how to deep fry food. I saved the oil and figured I’d use it again to make another fried chicken dish, and I’m so glad I did. These chicken wings (or karaage) are really similar to a dish my husband and I ordered at an izakaya we frequented when we were visiting Japan. To be honest, it’s one of the things that we were looking forward to enjoying when we move out there. My husband told me last night that he actually wasn’t as excited about moving anymore because he could now get the karaage he likes so much right at home. The recipe is perfect, but there’s just one thing I did that wasn’t noted. I had to turn the chicken with tongs halfway through the cooking times because my skillet was too shallow and I didn’t have enough oil to fully cover the chicken.

Image Top: chicken katsu  Bottom: Nagoya style fried chicken wings aka karaage

Whether you try these recipes, use other ones, or simply peruse Nami’s blog, I really hope you enjoy as much as I do 🙂

One thought on “fried goodness

  1. Hello Mrs. Sata! Thank you so much for trying both recipes. 🙂 I’m very happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed these dishes and your husband said he doesn’t have to go to Izakaya anymore. Thank you for the kind mentions, too. I just shared your post on my fan page. Thank you for linking back!

Leave a Reply

