It’s about time…

It’s been way, way, waaaayy too long since I’ve updated. 

I kept thinking about all the things that I wanted to update you on, and about how I wanted to post so many pictures…and the more I thought about it, the more I kept putting it off. So for now, I figured I’d just update you on what’s going on right now and how I’m feeling and doing now.

I’m still working at Heart & Soul Cafe on Tuesdays through Fridays, and it’s still just as wonderful as ever. The cafe really has become a safe and comfortable space for me, and I always enjoy seeing my coworkers and our customers. It’s also pretty dang fun trying my hand at latte art.

 Image

Pretty dang good, right? Ha…I wish I could take credit for these, but they were done by a barista who’s come in to train us a couple of times. 

Image

This is pretty much all I can do right now, and I’m not even consistent. Hopefully I’ll eventually get better…

Though I’m still at the cafe most days of the week, I’ve cut my hours significantly because of our new puppy. 

Image

Here’s a recent picture of our pup. He’s growing really fast, and it’s definitely been a challenge. I love him, but I really didn’t fully grasp what was in store for us in getting an eight-week-old puppy. In a nutshell, it’s been tough. But he’s cute, so that makes things a little better 😛 

Getting a puppy and cutting my hours at the cafe has actually really been a blessing in disguise. At first I was pretty bummed about not being able to spend as much time at the cafe, but I’ve come to realize that there is a lot more I can do with the extra time I have. For example…I hadn’t been able to really meet up with any sisters, and I’ve really been trying to take advantage of my time–and it’s been great. I love the girls I’ve met here, and getting to know them has both challenged and encouraged me immensely. 

Taking time off has also reminded me of the fact that at one point, I wanted to have lunch with students from a nearby university every week. One of the seminary staff members had been hanging out with them regularly, and I thought it would be awesome if I could join and develop relationships with the students as well. Somewhere along the line, I began to feel that the cafe was my priority and I forgot about my hopes for meeting the students. But fewer hours at the cafe coupled with a new friend who expressed interest in these lunches  helped to remind me, and I’ll hopefully start hanging out with them when school is back in session come April. 

It’s past midnight now and I really want to go to sleep, so I’ll update you more in a future post. I really need to buckle down and get better about blogging….and responding to emails. I’m so, so sorry if you’ve emailed me and I haven’t responded yet. I’m seriously the absolute worst with responding to emails… sigh. Please know that your emails mean a lot to me, especially because I’ve really been missing home and everything about it a lot lately. 

I’ll be posting again soon 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

